The Gift of the Present

Last week I turned 30!  For the past year, I was sort of negatively anticipating entering this new decade.  I’m not really sure why, other than your twenties, especially the age of 29 seems to be the age that older women cling to.  “I’m 29–again!”  “It’s the 10th anniversary of my 29th birthday.”  It seemed like 29 was the golden age and I thought I’d never want to say goodbye.  Boy, was I wrong!

29 was the hardest age of my life.  It was also the best, as we welcomed our incredible daughter into our lives.  But, my husband had cancer—twice.  However, the ironic thing about it all is that I would never trade that year if given the chance.  It was a hard year, yes, but it was also one of incredible growth and learning.  So, it really got me thinking about aging and birthdays.  What a blessing it is to grow older.  There are lots of people who will never have the privilege of turning 30 (or any age–insert your age here), including my sweet cousin, Scott. He was tragically killed last summer while fighting the Arizona Wildfires, at the young age of 28.  Growing older is a gift.  The present is a gift.  The wisdom that comes with each passing year is a gift.  Why do most of us so reluctantly want to receive that gift?

The most frequent advice that I hear from other parents regarding parenthood is, “Enjoy it!  It goes by way too fast.”  I sort of thought it was just some cliche thing that moms and dads say.  Nope.  They are SO right.  Life has never passed so quickly.  I’m trying to soak up every little thing that Ella does and not wish the next stage upon her.  She is a rolling machine right now and I just know that crawling and standing and walking are not far behind.  Right now, I am trying to enjoy the fact that she is still fairly immobile and I can use the bathroom or put the dishes away without having to worry where she will disappear to in just a few minutes.  

Speaking of dishes, another little nugget of wisdom from others that I’m trying to balance is this: “The house work can wait.  Focus on your children.  You won’t regret the time spent with your child, but you will regret the time you thought having a clean house was most important.”  Clearly that’s easier said than done and obviously there is a balance, but it sure is good to keep in the front of your mind.  Tomorrow is not promised.  How do you want to say you spent the majority of your time, cleaning or playing?

Here’s a quote (on an adorable sign) that I just love:

Image

 

Here’s one of my New Year’s resolutions: Be more fully in the PRESENT.  Laugh more, stress less.  Clean less, play more.  Worry less, enjoy more.  Trust more, control less.  Proudly state your age and the wisdom that comes with it.  After all, “age is just a number, not a state of mind.”-Cecelia Ahern  

How can YOU be more fully in the present?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift of the Present

  1. Chris Bertoch says:

    Happy Birthday and thank you for your sweet notes! Give Ella and Brandon hugs for me!! Hope you all have a merry Christmas. Love you all, Chris

  2. kaceyleigh says:

    I love this sister! Very well said. I feel more comfortable in my own skin in my 30s. I like that. I hope you will find that the same is true! Love you!

Leave a comment